Probation for most California DUI offenders includes mandatory attendance at an alcohol rehabilitation center; the hours and length of rehab attendance are contingent on the exact nature of the DUI offense. DUI rehab can be arduous, lengthy, and expensive. If you face a DUI charge in California, obtain the services of an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately.
Generally speaking, first offenders must participate in a certified alcohol rehabilitation program for 30 hours spread over three months. Second-time DUI offenders (if most recent offense was less than ten years ago) are typically required to attend an 18-to-30 month program that consists of education, group counseling, and individual counseling. Habitual offenders with three or more DUI convictions in a ten-year period may be ordered to take courses lasting a full 30 months. Those who live in other states may be able to attend an equivalent, certified program in their home state.
California conducts alcohol rehabilitation programs for DUI offenders in an effort to diminish recidivism. Studies have shown that effective alcohol rehabilitation may prevent at least some DUI offenders from driving drunk in the future. For many offenders, a DUI sentence will also include fines, jail time, and the loss of driving privileges. Offenders (in most cases second- or third-time offenders) may also be ordered to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in their vehicles. Judges may order rehabilitation in lieu of jail time or concurrent with other DUI penalties.
A good DUI defense lawyer will help you compile evidence and line up witnesses, challenge test results, and work hard to have your charge reduced or dismissed. If your case reaches the courtroom, a good DUI defense attorney will fight aggressively for your acquittal. If you’re facing the charge, your future is at stake. Do the right thing and consult an experienced California DUI defense attorney right away.