Many think that DUI is rare. It isn’t. It’s the most frequently-charged crime in the United States. In fact, about 27 percent of the drivers charged with DUI in the U.S. have prior DUI convictions. The courts assume that after a first arrest and conviction, you should have learned your lesson, so penalties for subsequent DUI convictions are increasingly harsher. If you are charged with a second or subsequent DUI, it’s a serious charge, and you are going to need serious legal help. Arrange as quickly as possible to speak with an experienced Orange County DUI attorney.
In California, a second DUI conviction can land you in jail from ten days to a year. The Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend your license for a minimum of a year and for possibly two years. Fines for a second DUI conviction can total between $1,800 and $2,800.
Increasingly, the courts and politicians are looking for innovative ways to crack down on repeat DUI offenders. Tougher laws, ankle bracelets, and ignition interlock devices are just some of the tools that lawmakers and judges are using. Texas, for example, sentenced Rose Ann Davidson to life in prison in 2013 for a sixth DUI offense, and in February, that state sentenced a man named Bobby Gene Martin to life for his tenth DUI conviction. California only sends the most egregiously violent felons to prison for life. Still, you do not want to face the penalties for a second or third DUI conviction in this state. A fourth DUI in California is a felony, and imprisonment is likely if you’re convicted.
Repeat DUI is a serious issue. If you are charged with a second or subsequent DUI in Orange County, don’t wait. Get legal help at once and contact an experienced Orange County DUI attorney as quickly as possible.