If you are arrested for driving under the influence, you’ll probably be most worried about jail, fines, and your driver’s license, but a DUI conviction also can significantly impact your auto insurance rates. In its survey of twenty U.S. cities, the website NerdWallet found that car insurance premiums increase by an average of 75.3 percent – $857 a year – subsequent to a DUI conviction. If you’re charged with DUI, don’t plead guilty, because a fine isn’t the only price you’ll pay. If you are convicted of DUI in southern California, you’ll probably never again pay what you are paying right now for automobile insurance. Protect yourself. Instead of pleading guilty, fight a DUI charge with the help of an experienced Orange County DUI defense attorney.
Insurance companies are harsh on DUI offenders because of what their research tells them. They believe that the first time you were caught driving while intoxicated most likely was not the first time you drove while intoxicated. The research says intoxicated drivers are arrested only once for every 88 times they actually drive while intoxicated.
In California, when your driving privilege is restored after a DUI conviction, you’ll also have to obtain an SR-22, a form from your insurance company which verifies that you carry minimum liability coverage. Not all insurance companies provide SR-22s, and when you find one that does, you’ll pay extra for it. If you simply cannot find a company to insure you, the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan assigns high-risk applicants to insurance companies in proportion to each company’s share of the state’s automobile insurance business.
No one wants this kind of auto insurance trouble. Avoid it if you can. If you plan to drive, don’t drink, and if you plan to drink, arrange not to drive. If you are charged with DUI in southern California, fight the charge. Get legal help immediately and contact an experienced Orange County DUI defense attorney.