Start Your Defense Today

Home → DUI Defense → California DUI Penalties

California DUI Charges Are Extremely Serious

Police officers are strict when it comes to driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of California. Anyone who is accused of this crime needs to prepare to fight for their freedom in order to avoid the countless penalties that come with a conviction.

If you are arrested for DUI, contact our team at The Law Offices of Todd Landgren. We have knowledgeable attorneys committed to helping DUI arrestees avoid as many legal penalties as possible.

First-Time DUI Defendant Penalties

First-time DUI defendants typically face misdemeanor charges. It’s possible that these defendants will be sentenced to up to six months of jail time; however, most judges prefer giving probation to first-time defendants. If the terms of the probation are not followed, the judge can revoke the probation and send the defendant to jail.

How Do Penalties Increase For Multiple DUI Offenses?

Second and third DUI defendants typically face misdemeanor charges. However, the penalties are more serious for a repeat offender than for someone committing their first DUI offense. These penalties include:

  • Up to one year served in jail, depending on number of offenses
  • Five years of informal probation
  • Mandatory alcohol education classes for 18 months
  • A fine amounting to about $2,000
  • License revocation and driving restricted by an in-car Breathalyzer (IID)

A fourth or subsequent DUI offense within a 10-year period usually gives rise to a felony charge carrying up to three years in prison and license revocation for four years.

How Do Aggravating Factors Increase The DUI Penalties?

The penalties mentioned above are the standard penalties for first, second, third, fourth and subsequent DUI offenses. However, the penalties for these offenses are enhanced under certain circumstances.

The following are factors that may aggravate penalties:

  • A child in the vehicle at the time of DUI arrest
  • The incident resulting in an accident or collision
  • Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at .015% or greater
  • Excess speeding and reckless driving
  • Court probation active at the time of the DUI charge

With aggravated charges, your life can be disrupted even more than those with less severe DUI charges. You need an attorney who will attack the evidence and dismantle the case against you point by point.

Contact Our Reputable Team For A Free Consultation

The best outcome is possible when you are defended by the experienced lawyers at The Law Offices of Todd Landgren. We have more than four decades of experience helping DUI defendants fight their charges. Call 949-535-1303 or fill out our website form to schedule a free consultation.