Understanding DUI Offenses Means Understanding Your Options
Being charged for driving under the influence (DUI) is worrisome for anyone but especially for people who do not know what repercussions they are facing. California has strict penalties for anyone caught driving while impaired, and the courts are known to prosecute to the fullest extent possible.
At The Law Offices of Todd Landgren, we want our clients to understand that facing these charges is not the end of the line. We have the knowledge and experience to defend all types of DUI offenses — from first-time offenses to serious aggravated DUIs.
Types Of DUI Offenses And Penalties
Our attorneys have a reputation for being honest and direct with our clients. We want you to know what you are facing so you can make a fully informed decision regarding all the options available to you.
With decades of experience in all matters of DUI cases, we can help you determine the best legal strategy for your situation and how to mitigate the penalties you may be facing.
These standard DUI offenses and typical penalties can include:
- First time DUI offenses are a misdemeanor and include up to $1,000 in fines, up to six months in jail and license suspension. However, an attorney can work for probation, suspensions and other penalty assessments to mitigate these penalties.
- Second/third DUI convictions or “aggravated DUIs” are still a misdemeanor but have harsher penalties. You can expect up to $1,000 in fines, up to a year in jail, three-year license suspension and up to five years of probation. A skilled attorney can work toward compromises like house arrest, alternative work programs instead of jail and a 30-day “DUI school” program.
- DUI offenses that injured another person are often considered a felony when the injuries are severe. You can face a prison sentence of up to four years, fines up to $5,000 and years of probation with ongoing penalties.
- DUI offenses that killed another person are usually a felony under California vehicular manslaughter or murder laws. You can be charged with second-degree murder for driving while intoxicated and could be facing 15 years in state prison or significant jail time and fines.
Free Consultation From Award-Winning Attorneys
We explain these penalties not to scare you, but to make sure you know the severity of what you could be facing. We have helped over 3,000 clients construct a strong DUI defense strategy that weakened the case against them, so they did not need to face these types of harsh punishments.