Start Your Defense Today

Home → DUI Offenses → Underage DUI

Defending An Underage DUI

The legal drinking age in the U.S. is 21, but that doesn’t stop many young adults from consuming alcoholic beverages before their 21st birthday. An underage DUI can derail your future, cost thousands of dollars and prevent you from achieving your goals.

You may have to walk through the fire after being arrested, but you don’t necessarily have to get burned or scarred. Insulate yourself from the heat of law enforcement. Contact The Law Offices of Todd Landgren to speak with our team of knowledgeable attorneys about your case.

What Are California’s Underage DUI Laws?

California has different tolerance levels for underage drivers and these come with different penalties:

  • .01 percent: This level, known as zero tolerance, prohibits adults under the age of 21 from driving with any detectable alcohol in their system, meaning a BAC of .01 percent or greater. Underage drivers who violate the zero tolerance law can lose their driving privileges for one year
  • .05 percent: If an underage driver has a BAC above .05 percent, he or she will face a one-year license suspension in addition to other penalties, excluding jail.
  • .08 percent: This is the adult DUI limit. If an underage driver has a BAC above .08 percent, he or she faces the same penalties as drivers over 21, but typically with longer license suspensions and alcohol education programs.

How We Help Underage Defendants

Many people believe that it is impossible to fight DUI charges when the results of a Breathalyzer or blood test show that the driver was above the legal limit, but that’s simply not the case. The reality is that no one will ever know what your BAC or level of impairment was when you were driving (the time that matters in California DUI cases). There are countless ways to fight these charges.

Let a DUI attorney on our team review your case to determine the best possible defense strategy. Then, let our attorneys fight to protect your rights through every step of the legal process. We are committed to helping underage DUI defendants reach the best possible conclusions to their cases.

Consultations are free. Call 949-535-1303 or contact us on our website.

Underage DUI

The legal drinking age in the U.S. is 21, but that doesn’t stop many young adults from consuming alcoholic beverages before their 21st birthday. It’s important for adults under the legal drinking age to understand that they can face serious penalties for drinking and for drinking and driving.

If you have been accused of underage DUI, it’s in your best interest to seek legal representation at once. Contact The Law Offices of Todd Landgren to speak to our team of knowledgeable attorneys about your case.

What Are California’s Underage DUI Laws?

Several DUI laws in California apply to underage drivers. The first is known as the zero tolerance law, which prohibits adults under the age of 21 from driving with any detectable alcohol in their system. If a driver has a BAC of 0.01% or greater, he or she is violating this law. A violation of the zero tolerance law is considered a civil offense instead of a criminal matter, so the consequences are not as severe.

The second DUI law prohibits drivers under the age of 21 from driving with a BAC of 0.05% or greater. Finally, the standard DUI that applies to drivers over the age of 21 can also apply to underage drivers. This law prohibits drivers from operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or greater.

What Are The Consequences Of This Charge?

Each of these three DUI laws carries possible penalties. Underage drivers who violate the zero tolerance law can lose their driving privileges for one year. If an underage driver has a BAC above 0.05%, he or she will also face a one-year license suspension in addition to a small fine. Drivers who violate this DUI law could also be ordered to complete an alcohol education program.

The standard DUI carries the most serious consequences. If an underage driver has a BAC above 0.08%, he or she could face license suspension, probation, fines, mandatory enrollment in an alcohol education program, and jail time.

How Can A DUI Defense Attorney Help A Defendant Fight The Charges?

Many people believe that it is impossible to fight DUI charges when the results of a breathalyzer or blood test show that the driver was above the legal limit, but that’s not the case. The reality is that no one will ever know what your BAC or level of impairment was when you were driving (the time that matters in California DUI cases). There are countless ways to fight these charges.

Let a DUI attorney on our team review your case to determine the best possible defense strategy. Then, let our attorneys fight to protect your rights through every step of the legal process. We are committed to helping underage DUI defendants reach the best possible conclusions to their cases.

Contact Our Award-Winning Law Firm To Schedule A Free Consultation

If you are facing DUI charges, contact The Law Offices of Todd Landgren at once. Our experienced attorneys benefit from more than 40 years of our firm’s experience fighting to protect the rights of the accused. Let us obtain the best possible outcome in your underage DUI case while you go on with your life. To schedule a free consultation, call 949-535-1303 or fill out the form on our website.